We are delighted to celebrate the recipients of the 2015 Woman Lawyer of the Year Awards and the 2015 Aboriginal Women's Legal Education Trust Scholarship.

Senior Woman Lawyer of the Year:   Susan Fielding

Woman Lawyer of the Year:   Elspeth Hensler

Junior Woman Lawyer of the Year:   Jessica Bowman and Stephanie Puris

Rural Regional and Remote Woman Lawyer of the Year:  Samatha Martella

Aboriginal Women's Legal Education Trust Scholarship:   Laura Vincent

These Awards were announced at WLWA's Honours Dinner held on Friday 13 March 2015 at the UWA Club. Close to 200 people were in attendance at the annual black-tie event to celebrate the remarkable achievements of Western Australian women lawyers – – in particular to acknowledge the appointment of Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AO (Governor) and to honour the new appointees to the bench (Her Honour Judge Vicki Laura Stewart (District Court), Her Honour Magistrate Ciara Tyson (Family Court), Member Karen Whitney (State Administrative Tribunal) and Member Hannah Leslie (State Administrative Tribunal).

WLWA would like to that all those that attended the Honours Dinner and would especially like to thank those that made donations on the night to use for implementing the 2014 Gender Review Reports many recommendations. We are thrilled to share that we receieved $1,309.50 in cash donations.

WLWA would also like to thank our sponsors from the night John Toohey Chambers, Law CPD and IPac. We also thank Ruc Cullen of Cullen Wines, Babington and Hughes for the contribution and support of the Gender Bias Project.

Photos from the event will be posted shortly.

Login Form

Current and former members of WLWA can login here to renew, rejoin and access members-only content on our website